What is exciting about the news?!

Every morning, and on my usual commute to work, I’m intriguingly informed of what is happening around me in this world, locally and internationally. Isn’t it amazing how this source of information saves a lot of time and effort?! I can not imagine how the old folks used to get news around at that time At least there weren’t any musical short breaks in between the news!
Having said that, I also have to point out a very important flip of thought that passed through me the other day; how fair and neutral is the news? What I came to realize is that news reporters are meant to be a sort of “transference” of news from around the globe.
The usual morning-news (in particular) tends typically to start with a news brief, proceeded by a follow-up with the news reporter at that event spot. This is done to ensure a live, truthful and reinforced transference of news. But isn’t subjective-thought transferred through, as well?
I think it’s food for thought. I always tend to think that they struggle to be legitimate and subjective-free reporters. Although most of on-the-spot reporters are country-natives, so they can’t help but to include what they “think” is happening; with available evidence at hand of course.
Putting radio, and other devices aside, I, most frequently, “hear” news from around me, by a word of mouth. Where I live, word of mouth is considered to be the most reliable and truthful source of information. It’s actually built-within this culture. You would most frequently hear things like: “hey, what the news, pal? Haven’t you got any news today? I haven’t got any news, what about you? It’s actually a form of greeting as well! It’s entertaining to exchange news, after all, isn’t it? Although some of the folks might “diverge” a bit to make the story interesting, much more entertaining, and full of suspense. When this happens, then, unmistakably, the level of reliability goes down. I really wonder why would some on struggle to make the news sound interesting and fun? The news is news anyways; sometimes it’s good, some times it’s bad!
When people transform the story into an entertaining one, they would, inevitably, need to implement false information, an addition, a subjective thought, or even just a wrong information. That’s why a bunch of people just love to listen to the news; not for the sake of being informed, but, merely, to entertain themselves!

2 thoughts on “What is exciting about the news?!

  1. This is interesting. I don’t really agree with the last part though for it’s not always the case. I don’t think that the entertaining part of telling the news would always reduce the reliability. This is more likey to be a personal thing. Some people/reporters would be truthful, while others would not. There would always be people who would invent 101 stories to make people believe them. I agree that word of mouth news sometimes contain false information in between, but not all the time. Thanks for sharing your ideas, brother.

  2. Awesome! I don’t agree completely with you about the last point, either. It’s not mainly enertainment. Besides, bias is inavoidable. However, I really like this article.

Leave a Reply

